James Madison University

Undergraduate Curriculum Council

The Undergraduate Curriculum Council is comprised of two representatives from each of the academic units within the College and the Associate Dean. The Associate Dean will chair the Council. The selection of the two representatives is the prerogative of the academic unit and may or may not include the unit's head (as has been tradition). The Undergraduate Curriculum Council continues in its role of overseeing curricular matters of the undergraduate programs of the College. However, this Council is also charged with being proactive in working with interested, designated faculty early in the program conceptualization stage and being analytic in addressing the long range benefits and costs involved in course and program development. The Council should seek to encourage and support curricular development congruent with the University's Defining Characteristics and the goals of the College. The Council will be active in facilitating discussion and sharing among all program coordinators. The Council will accomplish its work by maintaining good communication with faculty regarding proposals, considerations and decisions. The Council will make recommendations and report through the Associate Dean to the Leadership Council and the Dean, and to the Dean's Faculty Advisory Council through representation on that body. The Dean serves as an ex officio member of the Council.

Council Members

Department Members
Communication Sciences and Disorders Christina Kuo (fall)
Stacey Pavelko (spring)
Health Sciences Stephanie Baller
Kinesiology Sarah Carson Sackett
Nursing Christina Lam
Psychology Jaime Kurtz
Social Work Nancy Poe
Associate Dean Paula Maxwell
IIHHS Emily Akerson